Skip to Content

Meet Our Team – Barbra Scrivner

October 10th, 2016

barbra-web-profile-w-spaceThis is the second in a series of interviews with the College Success Arizona team.

Continuing with this feature, and throughout the next year, we’ll be taking a closer look at the College Success Arizona team, the people that make all that we do happen.  We’ll be asking the normal “tell us a little about yourself” questions, but also delving a little deeper into each team member’s personality, and what makes them who they are.

This month’s subject is Success Adviser, Barbra Scrivner.


What is your role at College Success Arizona?

I am a success adviser, which means that I work one-on-one with our scholarship recipients. Basically, I make sure that they are successful in college.

Please share with us a little bit about your background.

I was born and raised in Arizona, and I have two daughters. I live in Central Phoenix and I have a lovely dog that I just got named “Hudson.”

barbra-and-her-girls-2How did you come to be associated with College Success Arizona?

I was working as a teacher and I wanted something different. I saw a posting online and I applied, and that was that – so, it came at the right time.

What is the best thing about working with students (or your job)?

What I enjoy the most is seeing the progression of their lives. I help them solve problems and help them evolve into their majors, and into their professions.

Why do you feel increasing Arizona’s College Attainment Rate is so important?

I think that increasing Arizona’s College Attainment Rate is not only important to our state goal, but it’s also important to every individual that actually attains that diploma or that degree. I feel that it changes the entire trajectory of their family.

What other projects, activities, groups, are you involved in?

I am currently a master’s student at Grand Canyon University, so that keeps me really busy. I’m studying industrial organizational psychology, and I’ll be done in February.

What is your vision for the Arizona of the future?

For all children to have opportunity and access to obtain their educational goals, whatever those goals may be.

If you had a message for a student just beginning their college career, what would that be?

I always tell the freshmen that they need to take the time to learn how they learn best, and how they fit into the college culture, because the biggest downfall of college freshmen is taking on way too much in the beginning.

fb_img_1476290843535Basic stats (hometown, family, etc.):

I have one sister and my family is a Hispanic family. My mom was born in Mexico and my dad was born in America, but he’s a Mexican American. I’m also a first-generation college student, the first in my family.

What was your First or most interesting job?

My first job was working at a sandwich shop in Tucson, and I worked there for one week. I ended up getting a job as a receptionist, which paid more, and I quit the job at the sandwich shop on the spot, because I didn’t like it.

What is your career history?

I worked as a Spanish teacher and a Language Arts teacher in the middle schools, so I taught in the sixth through eighth grades. I love education and that’s why I’m still in it, but the teaching part wasn’t working for me anymore, and I wanted something a little bit different, so here I am.

What are your hobbies/favorite pastime?

hudson-photoI enjoy traveling, reading, working out, playing with the dog, and spending time with my family.

What is your favorite quote or motto?

It’s a quote by Eleanor Roosevelt “No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.”

What is your Favorite TV show?

“Friends.” I grew up watching that show and as a young adult I could relate to it.

What’s the one thing you couldn’t live without?

My favorite coffee and Mexican food.

What is your Culinary specialty?

Probably enchiladas and I do this great butternut squash ravioli.

What’s your guilty pleasure?

Chips and salsa

Do you have a Facebook, Instagram or Twitter (or other!) social media account?

I only have a Facebook account and I rarely use it, but I also have a goal to get on Twitter and Instagram.

What is your proudest moment?

There are so many to choose from, but it would have to be the birth of my oldest daughter.

“When I’m not working you’ll find me..”:

Probably outdoors somewhere

What’s your favorite movie?

My favorite movie genre is comedy.

Name a game show you would win?

Probably one of those game shows where you draw something.

Listen to the audio PodCast of Barbra’s complete interview

Back to top